Far West Music
  • Just in case you missed it over in the Inspirography! thread, here's the opening music from the soundtrack to THREE KINGDOMS, which was specifically composed to reference Ennio Morricone's Spaghetti Western themes:

The soundtrack is available as an import via Amazon Marketplace, although it's currently listed as out of stock.
  • Great movie! Got stuck up to my eyballs in snow, here in Billings, MT. It was a thrill. Struck my sappy side too. Thank you for the suggestion.
  • rexroad33rexroad33 +1 -1 (+1 / -0 )
    I can let the music speak for itself.

Plus: TheRedRanger

• Wow. Another great discovery. Thanks for that, Jesse!

I love the fact that you guys are introducing me to stuff I haven't heard -- and I've been assembling mood music for this project for like 5 years now!
  • Love how that last one starts out like Barry White should be telling an updated version of Cat Ballou or something. :)
  • Wow, these are all great suggestions that I'll be adding to my gaming playlist post haste. I think that background music can be a great tool for getting everyone in the right mindset. Glad you all agree!

When running another currently published weird west RPG setting that shall remain unnamed, my playlist has a lot of:
    - Ennio Morricone
    - Zamphir
    - Oh Brother Were Art Thou soundtrack
    - Kill Bill soundtracks. When something really bad is about to happen I like to play Quincy Jones - Ironsides. Maybe a little too 70s-ish for Far West, but my players seem to like it.

Keep the good ideas coming!
  • GMSkarkaGMSkarka +1 -1 (+1 / -0 )
    Some more material from my FAR WEST playlist:

A little Chinese hip-hop from Jay Chou from the Jet Li movie Huo Yuan Jia (known as "Fearless" in the US).

A track from Robert Rodriguez' band, Chingon:

Lame video, but great track: Terranova's remix of Morricone's "For a Few Dollars More", from the album Morricone RMX: